Home Championship History
Boys Tennis: Singles  Doubles  Team Girls Tennis: Singles  Doubles  Team

Boys State Tennis Tournament Singles History


Team Champion


2009 Billy Paluch, RC Stevens Brad Entwistle, SF O’Gorman
2008 Billy Paluch, RC Stevens Brad Entwistle, SF O’Gorman
2007 Billy Paluch, RC Stevens BJ Flynn, Brookings
2006 Roman Dojcak, SF O'Gorman Corey Paluch, RC Stevens
2005 Chris Williams, Pierre Roman Dojcak, SF O'Gorman
2004 Eric Sorenson, SF Lincoln Chris Williams, Pierre
2003 Chris Williams, Pierre Eric Sorenson, SF Lincoln
2002 Tom Jelsma, SF Washington Joe Eckert, SF Roosevelt
2001 Danny Peterson, SF O'Gorman Mark Vellek, SF Washington
2000 Tyler Steinle, Sturgis Mark Vellek, SF Washington
1999 Tyler Steinle, Sturgis James Chiu, SF Lincoln
1998 Tyler Steinle, Sturgis James Chiu, SF Lincoln
1997 Tyler Steinle, Sturgis Jason Kiner, SF Lincoln
1996 Jason Kiner, SF Lincoln Phillipe Sudan, Milbank
1995 Andy Young, Mitchell Jeremiah Paladino, SF Washington
1994 Dave Thompson, Brookings Jay Steinle, Sturgis
1993 Mike Murphy, Watertown Drew Nielsen, SF Lincoln
1992 Mike Murphy, Watertown Ryan Darling, Aberdeen Roncalli
1991 Christopher Nielsen, SF Lincoln Jay Anderson, Brandon Valley
1990 Tony Breit, SF O'Gorman Nathan Reed, Aberdeen Central
1989 Pat Moran, SF O'Gorman Chris Enterman, RC Central
1988 Nick Helwig, Vermillion Pat Moran, SF O'Gorman
1987 Pat Moran, SF O'Gorman Ripper Hatch, Brookings
1986 Ripper Hatch, Brookings Nick Helwig, Vermillion
1985 Ripper Hatch, Brookings Doug Novak, Brandon Valley
1984 Ripper Hatch, Brookings Doug Novak, Brandon Valley
1983 Jim Sorrell, SF O'Gorman Steve Brinkman, Pierre
1982 Jim Sorrell, SF O'Gorman Scott Colson, Brookings
1981 Jim Sorrell, SF O'Gorman Tom Krueger, SF Washington
1980 Pat Rost, SF O'Gorman Mark Sweetman, Aberdeen Roncalli
1979 Duke Paluch, RC Central Mark Sweetman, Aberdeen Roncalli
1978 Pat Rost, SF O'Gorman Duke Paluch, RC Central
1977 Mike Hoeger, SF Lincoln Steve Holwerda, Brookings
1976 Mike Trautner, Pierre Mike Hoeger, SF Lincoln
1975 Mike Trautner, Pierre Scott Hackler, Vermillion
1974 Mike Trautner, Pierre Bruce Mannes, Aberdeen Central
1973 Tom Clayton, SF Washington Keith Levi, Aberdeen Central
1972 Tom Clayton, SF Washington Greg Wilcox, SF Lincoln
1971 Bill Clayton, SF Lincoln Tom Clayton, SF Washington
1970 Marty Johnson, Brookings Bill Clayton, SF Lincoln
1969 Bill Clayton, SF Lincoln Randy Stolpe, Rapid City
1968 Jeff Kawalsky, SF Lincoln Kelly Sullivan, Madison
1967 Craig Sandvig SF Lincoln Bob Wicks, Watertown
1966 Craig Sandvig, SF Lincoln Dick Jewett, SF Washington
1965 John Waltman, Rapid City Bob Wicks, Watertown
1964 Skip Spensley, Sioux Falls Van Fishback, Brookings
1963 Jeff Clark, Sioux Falls Skip Spensley, Sioux Falls
1962 Jeff Clark, Sioux Falls Skip Spensley, Sioux Falls
1961 Jefff Clark, Sioux Falls Tom Weber, Sioux Falls
1960 Fred Fischer, Sioux Falls Tom Weber, Sioux Falls
1959 Tom Line, Sioux Falls Gilbert Haldeman, Aberdeen
1958 Dave Weber, Sioux Falls Jerry Dean, Mitchell
1957 John Simko, Sioux Falls Tom Line, Sioux Falls
1956 John Simko, Sioux Falls Mike Rost, Sioux Falls
1955 John Simko, Sioux Falls Mike Rost, Sioux Falls
1954 John Simko, Sioux Falls Harold MacDougal, Brookings
1953 Charles Bailin, Sioux Falls Robert Greeves, Huron
1952 John Van Why, Vermillion Charles Bailin, Sioux Falls
1951 Dick Olson, Watertown Charles Bailin, Sioux Falls
1950 Don Grebin, Sioux Falls Jerry Kambestad, Aberdeen
1949 Robert Hoffman, Pierre Jerry Popowski, Aberdeen
1948 Cliff Anderson, Sioux Falls Wallace McCullen, Rapid City
1947 Mike Trueblood, Sioux Falls Dan Pospesel, Sioux Falls
1942 Eugene Kriens, Watertown Glen Gustafson, Watertown
1941 Robert Carlson, Watertown Dick Arnston, Sioux Falls
1940 Robert Carlson, Watertown Jack Kindred, Sioux Falls
1939 Robert Carlson, Watertown Jack Kindred, Sioux Falls
1938 Art Kilness, Sioux Falls Clyde Ainsworth, Sioux Falls
1937 Warren Opheim, Sioux Falls Jack Vogel, Pierre
1936 Irving Kaska, Eastern Jack Holden, Britton
1935 Gordon Holden, Britton Leslie Lang, Murdo
1934 Gordon Holden, Britton Stewart Richmond, Sioux Falls
1933 Percy Klimisch, Yankton Gordon Swan, Madison
1932 Scott Rethorst, Rapid City William Bird, Mobridge
1931 Junior Donaldson, Yankton Richard Hanten, Watertown
1930 Junior Donaldson, Yankton Stewart Tichmond, Dell Rapids
1929 Toger Birdseye, Aberdeen Robert Reynolds, Dell Rapids
1928 Edward Shimkat, Bridgewater Richard Bauer, Sioux Falls
South Dakota Public Broadcasting has free web page templates available for your school to use to create a website history of activities.
We would like to link your school histories to this site.
For information about the free web templates or to create a link, contact:
Larry Rohrer
Director of Online Services

Links to this page, in its entirety, are welcome. Please notify This page or this site may be used inside your frame in its entirety. Any other use of the Content or Data in any format or manner via print, broadcast, or internet transmission, is prohibited without the express written consent of South Dakota Public Broadcasting and the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  Use of the Content and Data provided to and by these pages is intended for personal entertainment. For venue, ticketing, schedules, or other tournament related questions please contact the SDHSAA at