2009 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

South Dakota State University, Brookings September 28, 2009

2009-10 "ON-THE-SPOT" CONTESTS

Each year, the students that attend the High School Press Convention are offered the opportunity to compete under deadline conditions. This competition is the "On-The-Spot" contests for "News Writing", "Feature Writing", "Yearbook Design" and "Photography".

NEWS WRITING CONTEST

First Place: Kayla Prasek, Watertown Second Place: Kelcy Curtis, Pierre Riggs Third Place: Hilary Krein, Eureka

FEATURE WRITING CONTEST

First Place: Jeffrey Mettler, Eureka Second Place: Zach Forsberg, Luverne, MN Third Place: Cari Meyer, Bridgewater



"On-The-Spot News Writing" Contest Winners: (l to r) Kelcy Curtis, Pierre Riggs; Kayla Prasek, Watertown; Hilary Krein, Eureka



"On-The-Spot Yearbook Design" Contest Winner: Jerra Olson, Deuel

YEARBOOK DESIGN CONTEST

First Place: Sundra Xaphakdy, Luverne, MN

Second Place: Jerra Olson, Deuel

Third Place: Ashley Siebenahler, Luverne, MN

PHOTOGRAPHY

First Place: Caitlyn Brandt, Deuel Second Place: Jean VanDriel, Mitchell Third Place: Jenna Freese, Deuel



"On-The-Spot Feature Writing" Contest Winners: (1 to r) Jeffrey Mettler, Eureka; Cari Meyer, Bridgewater



"On-The-Spot Photography" Contest Winners: (1 to r) Caitlyn Brandt, Deuel; Jemma Freese, Deuel