JOURNALISM

2009 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

South Dakota State University, Brookings September 28, 2009

The 2009 High School Press Convention was held on the SDSU campus in Brookings on September 28th. *Over 295 high school journalists and their advisors from 29 schools attended the convention.*

During the morning sessions the students attended programs lead by Candace Perkins Bowen and Jael Trieb.

Candace Perkins Bowen is assistant professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University.

Jael Trieb is the owner of Jael Photography in Brookings.

The Convention concluded with the "General Awards Session in the afternoon". This session included the announcement of the results for the "On-the-Spot" contests that were held that morning, and the Annual Publications Contest for Newspapers, Yearbooks and Literary Publications.

2009 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS

(Awards for high school publications published during the 2008-09 school year)

Submitted publications are judged and given All-State, First Class, Second Class or Third Class ratings. Each school receiving All-State honors receives a plaque. The All-State award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

A. ALL-STATE YEARBOOKS

Class 1 (Enrollment: 425 & above)

Brookings – BOBCAT – Becky Ekeland, Advisor Brookings – MULTIMEDIA YB – Barbara Walder, Advisor

S.F. Lincoln – HERITAGE – Mary Tranberg & Sarah Winterscheidt, Advisors

S.F. Washington – WARRIOR – Alison Halgerson, Advisor

Watertown - ARROW - Dodie Bemis, Advisor

Class 2 (Enrollment: 140 to 425)

Redfield – THE PHEASANT – Kaylin Frost, Advisor Vermillion – CHANGES – Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor

Class 3 (Enrollment: 75 to 140)

Northwestern - THE WILDCAT - Nora Groft, Advisor

Class 4 (Enrollment: 45 to 75)

Emery – EMERY EAGLE – Judy Hamaker, Advisor Wilmot – WOLFPACK – Ruth Settje, Advisor

Class 5 (Enrollment: under 45)

None

B. ALL-STATE NEWSPAPERS

Class 1 (Offset, Enrollment: 300 & above)

Brandon Valley –BV ECHO – Deb Rothenberger, Advisor

Mitchell – THE KERNEL – Brooke Begeman, Advisor

S.F. Lincoln - STATESMAN – Virginia Olson, Advisor

S.F. O'Gorman – THE O'GORMAN KNIGHT SCROLL – Jason Van Engen, Advisor

Watertown – PURPLE AND GOLD – Shanon Manley, Advisor

Class 2 (Offset, Enrollment: 175-300)

None

Class 3 (Offset, Enrollment: under 175)

Roslyn – THE VIKING – Carol Gaikowski, Advisor

Class 4 (All Self-Published)

None

Class 5 (All Departmental)

Emery – THE EMERY WHEEL – Judy Hamaker, Advisor

C. ALL-STATE LITERARY PUBLICATIONS

Yankton – THE CELLAR DOOR – Sandra Hoffner, Advisor

D. MOST IMPROVED PUBLICATIONS AWARDS

Newspaper

None

Yearbook

None

E. TOP OF CLASS

The top of Class Award for newspaper and yearbook is presented to the school whose newspaper accumulated the highest All-State rating score and to the school whose yearbook accumulated the highest All-State rating score.

Newspaper

Brandon Valley – ECHO - Deb Rothenberger, Advisor

Yearbook

Brookings - BOBCAT - Becky Ekeland, Advisor

F. SWEEPSTAKES AWARD

The Sweepstakes award is given to the school accumulating the greatest total combined points in newspaper and yearbook in all divisions.

Sioux Falls Lincoln High School Newspaper Advisor: Virginia Olson Yearbook Advisors: Mary Tranberg & Sara Winterscheidt

G. HALL OF FAME AWARDS

The Hall of Fame Award is given to any school newspaper or yearbook that accumulates ten consecutive "All-State Awards".

Newspapers (1999-00 through 2008-09) None

Yearbooks (1999-00 through 2008-09) Brookings High School – BOBCAT S.F. Lincoln High School – HERITAGE