2007 High School Press Convention

Brookings - September - 24

The High School Press Convention is held annually in the fall at South Dakota State University, Brookings. Activities include: All-State Journalist staff meeting, Advisers business meeting (Supervisors of School Publications), Announcement of the Annual Publications Contest winners in newspapers, yearbooks and miscellaneous publications, Announcement of First Edition Contest results "On-the-Spot" Contests in: News Writing, Photography, Feature Writing, Yearbook Design.

Award Presentations
2007 Spring Writing Contest Results
Founders Award

Sandy Gant, Platte-Geddes

On-The-Spot Feature Writing

1st place-Alysa Eberhart, Eureka

2nd place- Jenae Hansen, Northwestern

3rd place- Samantha Jung, Leola

On-The-Spot News Writing

1st place-Kayla Lapka, Leola

2nd place-Maggie Clemensen, Northwestern

3rd-Emily Grenz, Eureka

On-The-Spot Yearbook Design

1st place- Heidi Kirchner, Milbank 

2nd place- Ellen Cameron, Milbank

3rd place- Kim Buehner, Deubrook Area

All-State Newspaper

Class 1(Offset, Enrollment: 300 & above):
Sioux Falls Lincoln, Brandon Valley, Yankton and Pierre TF Riggs

All-State Newspaper: Class 2 (Offset, Enrollment: 175 to 300): none
All-State Newspaper

Class 3 (Offset, Enrollment: under 175): Roslyn, Castlewood

All-State Newspaper: Class 4 (Self-Published): none
All-State Newspaper

Class 5 (Departmental): Emery and Lennox

Literary Publications

Yankton and Northwestern

All-State Yearbook

Class 1 (Enrollment: 425 & above):
Sioux Falls Lincoln, Brookings, Yankton and Watertown

All-State Yearbook

Class 2 (Enrollment: 140 to 425): Vermillion, Milbank and Redfield

All-State Yearbook

Class 3 (Enrollment: 75 to 140): Sioux Valley, Tea Area, Sully Buttes, Clark, Deubrook Area

All-State Yearbook

Class 4 (Enrollment: 45 to 75): Emery, Castlewood, Jones Co. and Roslyn

All-State Yearbook

Class 5 (Enrollment: under 45): Rutland





Top Of The Class -  Highest All-State rating score
Newspaper - Emery "The Wheel"
Yearbook - Rutland "Rambler" and Emery "The Eagle" (tied)

Most Improved Newspaper

Huron "Tiger Stripes"

Most Improved Yearbook- Sioux Valley " The Cossack"
Sweepstakes Winner: SF Lincoln

Click here for ARCHIVES and results from past years.

Links to this page, in its entirety, are welcome. Please notify This page or this site may be used inside your frame in its entirety. Any other use of the Content or Data in any format or manner via print, broadcast, or internet transmission, is prohibited without the express written consent of South Dakota Public Broadcasting and the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  Use of the Content and Data provided to and by these pages is intended for personal entertainment. For venue, ticketing, schedules, or other tournament related questions please contact the SDHSAA at