2006 High School Press Convention

Brookings - September - 25

The High School Press Convention is held annually in the fall at South Dakota State University, Brookings. Activities include: All-State Journalist staff meeting, Advisers business meeting (Supervisors of School Publications), Announcement of the Annual Publications Contest winners in newspapers, yearbooks and miscellaneous publications, Announcement of First Edition Contest results "On-the-Spot" Contests in: News Writing, Photography, Feature Writing, Yearbook Design.

Award Presentations
2006 Spring Writing Contest Results
2005/2006 On-The-Spot and First Edition Newspaper Competition
Founders Award:
Ann Lundquist, Gettysberg High School
Feature Writing:
1st - Kayla Lapka, Leola
2nd - Laura Cox, Castlewood
News Writing:
1st - Ginger Manke, Mitchell
2nd - Andrew Gates, Mitchell
3rd - Kelli Prater, Yankton
Yearbook Design:
1st - Nicole Deurmier, Eureka
2nd - Cassie Briggs, Milbank
All State Literary Publications:
Northwestern, Yankton
All State Newspapers:

Class 1 (Offset, Enrollment: 401 & above)
Brandon Valley, Yankton, Mitchell, SF Lincoln



Class 2 (Offset, Enrollment: 251 to 400)
West Central, Castlewood (no Picture)

Class 5 (All Departmental)
Emery, Lennox

All State Yearbook:

Class 1 (Enrollment: 651 & above)
TF Riggs "Gumbo", Watertown "Arrow", SF Lincoln "Heritage", Brookings "Bobcat", Yankton "Arickara"


Class 2 (Enrollment: 201-650)
Redfield "Pheasant", Lennox "Lenkota"


Class 3 (Enrollment : 101-200)
Deubrook Area "Dolphin", Tea Area "Titans",Freeman Academy " "


Class 4 (Enrollment: 66-100)
Jones County " ", Wilmont "Wolfpack, Sully Buttes "Eternal FLame", Eureka "Trojan"


Class 5 (Enrollment: 65 and Under)
Rutland "The Rambler", Emery "Eagle", Roslyn "Viking"


First Edition Contest (over 175):
First Place: SF Lincoln - STATESMAN (Virginia Olson, Advisor)
Second Place: Brookings - BROBOCA (Sharon King, Advisor)
Third Place: Third - Brandon Valley ECHO (Deb Rothenberger, Advisor)

First Edition Contest (under 175):
First Place: Castlewood - DACOTAH WARRIOR (Michele Hansen & Diane Anderson, Advisors)

Most Improved Publications
Newspaper - Canistota High School
Yearbook - Lennox High School
Top Of The Class -  Highest All-State rating score.
Newspaper - Emery "The Wheel" (489 points)
Yearbook - TF Riggs "Gumbo" 969 points
Sweepstakes - Highest total points in newspaper and yearbook in all divisions.
Lincoln High School
Hall Of Fame - School newspaper or yearbook with ten consecutive All-State Awards.
Newspapers - None
Yearbooks - None

Click here for ARCHIVES and results from past years.

Links to this page, in its entirety, are welcome. Please notify This page or this site may be used inside your frame in its entirety. Any other use of the Content or Data in any format or manner via print, broadcast, or internet transmission, is prohibited without the express written consent of South Dakota Public Broadcasting and the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  Use of the Content and Data provided to and by these pages is intended for personal entertainment. For venue, ticketing, schedules, or other tournament related questions please contact the SDHSAA at