South Dakota Farmers Union Insurance

Fine Arts
Debate & Individual Events

Photos        A Home     AA Home     Debate Home

MARCH 7-8, 2003

Class "A" & "AA" State Tournament 

Class-A Results
Foreign Extemporaneous Speaking
Champion - Robert Haar, Deuel
Runner-Up - Taiana Hayes, Vermillion
Third Place - Mallory Malm, Milbank
Finalists-  Rachel Lewis, Groton; Geng Wang, Vermillion; Kirsetn Ziegler, Lennox

US Extemporaneous Speaking
Champion - Jim Johnson, Deuel
Runner-Up - Ellen Kennedy, Vermillion
Third Place - Varsha Ramakrishnan, Vermillion
Finalists - Holly Walter, Groton; Emily Lentz, Milbank; Joe Keller, Milbank

Champion - Noelle Harden, Vermillion
Runner-Up - Jenna Carlson, Milbank
Third Place - Alicia Coggins, Beresford
Finalists - Ryan Haugaard, Milbank, Healey Builtena, Lennox, Michele Morse, Vermillion

Policy Debate
Champion Debaters - Robert Haar & Jim Johnson, Deuel
Runner-Up Debater - Leslee Sell & Ellen Kennedy, Vermillion
Semi-Finalist Debaters - Danielle Schmidt & Ashley Miller, Lennox; Varsha Ramakrishnan & Noelle Harden, Vermillion
Quarter Finalist Debaters- Kristen Ziegler & Steven Ziegler, Lennox; Mallory Malm & Emily Lentz, Milbank; Tim Adams & Sarah Klingbile, Madison; Amy Mammenga & Holly Walter, Groton

Lincoln/Douglas Debate
Champion -Shandhini Raidoo,Vermillion
Runner-Up - Ryan Haugaard, Milbank
Semi Finalists - Patrick Kane, Montrose; Rachel Lewis, Groton

Class - AA Results
Foreign Extemporaneous Speaking
Champion - Micalann Sharp, Watertown
Runner-Up - Yashreeka Huq, Rapid City Central
Third Place - Carl Nelson, Rapid City Stevens
Finalists - Chris Pistulka, Aberdeen Central; Joel Stjernholm, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Karthik Giridhar, Aberdeen Central

US Extemporaneous Speaking
Champion - Jason Tischler, Rapid City Central
Runner-Up - James Brandt, Brookings
Third Place - Justin Goetz, Aberdeen Central
Finalists - Alex Baldwin, Mitchell; Sean Flynn, Mitchell; Sean Stadler, Sioux Falls Roosevelt

Champion - Tim Billion, Sioux Falls Lincoln
Runner-Up - Paul Slattery, Sioux Falls Lincoln
Third Place - Stephanie Chase, Brookings
Finalists - Amanda Davis, Aberdeen Central; Amanda Melham, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Emily Slama, Watertown

Policy Debate
Champion Debaters - Chris Roby & Micalann Sharp, Watertown
Runner-Up - BJ Ortmeier & Kelley Popham, Watertown
Semi Finalists - Molly Lutz & Lincoln Campbell, Aberdeen; James Brandt & Mark Werner, Brookings
Quarter Finalists -  Karthik Giridhar & Justin Goetz, Aberdeen Central; Michael McNulty & Reed Abrahamson, Rapid City Stevens; Joel Stjernholm & Amanda Melham, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; David Rees & Pei Yen, Brookings

Lincoln/Douglas Debate
Champion - Brian Gough, Watertown
Runner-Up- Seth Stadler, Sioux Falls Roosevelt
Semi Finalists - Bill Anderson, Watertown; Christopher McCulloch , Brookings
Quarter Finalists - Rachel Peterson, Rapid City Stevens; Alex Johnson, Brookings; Rhino Zhang, Yankton; Josh Tonsager, Huron

Links to this page, in its entirety, are welcome. Please notify This page or this site may be used inside your frame in its entirety. Any other use of the Content or Data in any format or manner via print, broadcast, or internet transmission, is prohibited without the express written consent of South Dakota Public Broadcasting and the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  Use of the Content and Data provided to and by these pages is intended for personal entertainment.

2005 South Dakota Public Broadcasting
South Dakota High School Activities Association