South Dakota High School Activities Association
South Dakota Public Broadcasting

Boys Athletics
Cross Country-Scrapbook

Follow the links to:  AAA  &  B

AA- The RC Stevens team takes the AA title home again.

AA- State AA individual results: (from right) Shane Ahlers(Sturgis), Joel Teachout(Yankton), Josh Jeffery(Spearfish), Peter Franz(RC Central), Brandon Fried(RC Central), Erik Long(RC Stevens)

A- The Madison team claims their 2001 State A Championship team title 

State A individual results:(from right) T. Jay Sanderson(Chamberlain), Eric Dehner (Vermillion),Patrick Grass(Pine Ridge), Zach Frohling(Britton), Mike One Star(Todd County), Matt Nipe(Madison)

B- State B individual placers: (from right)Patrick King(Baltic), Bill Haukaas (White River), Dane Yde (Baltic), William White Light (Lower Brule), Joe Clark (Hoven)

B- The Boys State B Cross Country Champions from Baltic.

B- Baltic's Patrick King won the Boys State B title in 17:10.63.

B-Bill Haukaas from White River took 2nd in the Boys B competition. He finished in 17:26.82.
B- Dane Yde,17:40.26,  took 3rd and helped Baltic to a team State B Boys Championship title. The team's total time was 52.44.87. Their average was 17:34.96.
AA- First place finisher Shane Ahlers of Sturgis pushes hard at the end and takes the State title with a time of 15:46.97.
AA- Yankton's Joel Teachout takes 2nd in 16:27.95.
. AA- Josh Jeffery of Spearfish rounds out the top three with a time of 16:31.46.
A- Jay Sanderson of Chamberlain crosses in 16:12.80 and wins the State A Boys Championship.
A- Eric Dehner of Vermillion takes 2nd with a time of 16.21.82.
A- Last year's
champ Patrick 
Grass finishes 
third with a 16:35.01 time. 
Pine Ridge as a 
team also finished
Dressed to the tee for his role in today's event, Rapid City singer Charlie Wheeler belts out the National Anthem for the good sized crowd at the Elks Club Golf Course, site of the Cross Country State Championships.

AA- The Sioux Falls Washington Warriors pick up the pace in preparation for tomorrow's State Championship races.

A- The 2000 State A Championship team from Pine Ridge stands poised to defend their title. Al Capone White Calf, Corwin Standing Crow, Nupa White Plume, Dean Richard, Patrick Grass, Wes Yellow Horse, Ida Braveheart, and coach Lyn Pine prepare to check out the course. With only one teammate graduating last year, the runners are confident. "We had a good season and are ready to defend our title," said coach Pine. Freshman Grass (center), the defending state individual champion, said he feels good despite a long trip out to Rapid City.
A-Garretson coaches Jason Bohl & Jeff Sylliaasen discuss course strategies as runner Charlie Ward ponders the fact that he is the lone man qualifying this year.  "It's been tough without my team, but it's my second year so I am not as nervous as last year." Ward  traveled to State with the six female runners for Garretson. "They aren't too tough on him," joked coach Sylliaasen
B- "It was a long drive," agreed Wakonda teammates Eric Skonhovd, Robert Gregoire, Nick Skonhovd, Tyler Moser, Ashley Logue and Bo Martz. According to Martz, the crew "played on their GameBoys, listened to CDs and tortured Ashley," the team's only qualifying girl.

Links to this page, in its entirety, are welcome. Please notify This page or this site may be used inside your frame in its entirety. Any other use of the Content or Data in any format or manner via print, broadcast, or internet transmission, is prohibited without the express written consent of South Dakota Public Broadcasting. Use of the Content and Data provided to and by these pages is intended for personal entertainment.

ę2002 SDPB Onlíne